Timeline Daly City and Colma

Return to home


The area that later became Daly City was initially a farming community called Vista Grande.
    (www.britannica.com/eb/topic-677560/article-9096019)

Daly city home page: www.ci.daly-city.ca.us
Daly City History Museum:
http://www.dalycityhistorymuseum.org/
Daly City History Guild Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Daly-City-History-Museum-History-Guild-of-Daly-CityColma/105165526194227
Flicker:
http://wiki.worldflicks.org/san_andreas_fault_enters_the_pacific_ocean.html

100 Mil BC    The Colma Hills are gently sloping mountains that are tertiary in age and made of sandstone, shale, and a conglomerate of marine and continental origin. The bulk of San Bruno Mountain is composed of late Cretaceous dark, greenish gray graywacke of the Franciscan Formation. Outcrops of dark shale chert of many colors are among the rocks found on the mountain. Two main streams drain the mountain, Colma Creek from the top to the valley eastward, and Guadelupe Creek, which flows through Guadelupe Valley.
    (GTP, 1973, p.119,126)(www.dalycityhistory.org/Gateway.htm)


1Mil-3 Mil BC    The Colma Hills are gently sloping mountains of this age.
    (SFEC, 2/8/98, p.A9)

125000BC-80000BC    The Daly City Dunes on the western end of San Bruno Mountain formed during this period, when the North Peninsula of the San Francisco Bay Area was an island and water lapped at the base of the mountain.
    (www.mountainwatch.org/kens-words/2012/1/19/save-the-daly-city-dunes.html)

3000BC    Radiocarbon tests indicated human habitation at the bay side foot of San Bruno Mountain back to this time.
    (SFEC,12/29/97, p.A13)

800        Ohlone Indians occupied the cliffs near Mussel Rock, later Daly City, Ca., beginning from about this time.
    (http://tinyurl.com/6sn59u9)

c1550        Radiocarbon tests indicated human habitation at the bay side foot of San Bruno Mountain up to this time. The Sipliskin Tribe (The Ohlone called the site Siplichiquin), a northern branch of the Ohlone Indians, occupied the site until the 18th century.
    (SFEC,12/29/97, p.A13)(Ind, 5/11/99, p.1A)

1774        Fernando Rivera and 4 soldiers climbed San Bruno Mountain and watched the sun rise over the bay.
    (GTP, 1973, p.126)

1775        Captain Bruno Heceta led a group of explorers along the slopes of San Bruno Mountain to the shores of Lake Merced. He most likely named the mountain for his patron saint.
    (GTP, 1973, p.124,126)

c1777        Priests from Mission Dolores and soldiers from the SF Presidio marked out a trail to Southern California. The gap between San Bruno Mountain and the Coastside Hills was named La Portezuela, later known as the Top of the Hill, and Daly’s Hill.
    (GTP, 1973, p.1)
1790        Hides and tallow from the Colma Hills were shipped to Spain and down the coast to mines and plantations in Mexico and South America.
    (GTP, 1973, p.64)

1821-1846    Mexico ruled over California with a series of 12 governors. During part of this time Gen’l. Jose Castro commanded all of the Spanish forces in California and was an active opponent of US rule in 1846. The governors reduced the Spanish missions to mere parishes and granted the acres owned by the priests to Mexican nobles.
    (SFEC, 9/21/97, p.C7)(GTP, 1973, p.2)

1822-1846    Rancho Buri Buri, owned by Jose Sanchez, covered 15,000 acres in what later became Colma, Burlingame, San Bruno, South San Francisco and Burlingame. Rancho Laguna de la Merced, owned by Jose Antonio Gallindo, covered a half league around the lake. He sold it to Francisco de Haro, the son-in-law of Jose Sanchez.
    (GTP, 1973, p.2)
1822-1846    Canada de Guadalupe la Visitacion y Rodeo Viejo was a third rancho that stretched from the Visitation District of SF southward to South San Francisco, and eastward from Mission Road to the Bayshore. It was granted to Jacob Primer Leese and his wife Rosalia Vallejo, sister of Gen’l. Marano Vallejo.
    (GTP, 1973, p.3)

1838-39    Jacob Primer Leese of Ohio obtained his grant and put cattle on the land.
    (GTP, 1973, p.3)

1839        Senor Gallindo was arrested by Francisco de Haro, the alcalde, for murder and sent to San Jose because there was no jail in SF.
    (GTP, 1973, p.2)

1840        Jacob Leese built a mud and timber house in what is now Brisbane and enclosed 8-10 acres for cultivation. He built another house in Visitacion Valley for his majordomo and Indian herders and spent most of his time in Yerba Buena where he had built the first dwelling in the city.
    (GTP, 1973, p.3)

1841        San Bruno Mountain was included in a grant to Jacob Leese as part of the Rancho Guadelupe la Visitacion y Rodeo Viejo. Later it became part of open space land dividing the eastern cities of northern San Mateo County from those in the west.
    (GTP, 1973, p.124)
1841        Jacob Leese traded his rancho to Robert Ridley for Calloyomi Rancho in Sonoma. Ridley built a house with a shingled roof that set it apart from the thatched houses of the rancho. Ridley was later forced to sell his holdings with 700 acres going to Robert Eaton and the rest to Alfred Wheeler, who got his share for $875.
    (GTP, 1973, p.3,128)

1841-1851    Butchers, bakers and dairymen moved onto the land of the Guadalupe la Visitacion y Rodeo Viejo.
    (GTP, 1973, p.1)

1846        Rancho Laguna de la Merced passed to American owners and later to the Spring Valley Water Company. It was eventually subdivided to become part of the Westlake area of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.2)

c1846    After California became a state the owners of the Rancho Laguna de la Merced laid claim to the land between San Bruno Mountain and Lake Merced.
    (GTP, 1973, p.5)

1850s    The village of Colma began as a farming community centered at the corner of Mission St. and San Pedro Ave.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.4)

1852        Patrick Brooks came to the Colma Hills and selected 400 acres in the center. He carted the building materials in from SF.
    (GTP, 1973, p.119)

1853        A US government survey stated that most of the contested land, between San Bruno Mountain and Lake Merced, was government property and could be acquired by private individuals.
    (GTP, 1973, p.1)
1853        The declaration of the government survey prompted settlers, mostly of Irish extraction, to stake claims and establish farms and ranches in the area that became known as the Colma Hills.
    (GTP, 1973, p.5)
1853        M. Holenworth established a homestead near La Portezuela. He built a dairy that became a cornerstone of the area. The land passed to John Donald Daly from the Millbrae area around 1868.
    (GTP, 1973, p.23)
1853        J.G. Knowles established the first dairy in San Mateo County in the middle of what is now Daly City to supply milk to SF.
    (GTP, 1973, p.63)
1853        Robert S. Thornton from Rhode Island established a claim south of Lake Merced near the ocean beach that now bears his name. After 2 years he returned home to fetch his wife Sarah. He later wrote: "A Brief History of Colma’s Early Days."
    (GTP, 1973, p.6)

1856        A surveyor drew a line across the neck of the San Francisco peninsula marking the border between Daly City and San Francisco.
    (SSFC, 2/27/11, p.A2) 
1856        A school house was built at Mission and Old San Pedro Road. When the railroad came through the area was called School House Station.
    (GTP, 1973, p.29)

1858        Robert S. Thornton became an ex-officio roadmaster and called for funds to improve the road on "rough Old Mission."
    (GTP, 1973, p.66)

1859        Henry Schwerin, a German baker, bought several hundred acres south of what is no Geneva Ave. He kept a herd of cows in what is now the parking lot of Cow Palace and started a horticulture nursery.
    (GTP, 1973, p.112)
1859        Settlers of the Colma region were encroached by owners of the Laguna Merced Rancho and a major litigation followed that went to the Federal Supreme Court.
    (GTP, 1973, p.11)

1860        The San Bruno Toll Road, which later became Bayshore Blvd., was established. The toll gate was at Seven-Mile House.
    (GTP, 1973, p.112)

1860s    A shopping area developed at the confluence of Mission Trail and Old San Pedro Road, where Joseph J. Hill built a general store. Ned Daly established a butcher shop. A school house was built here.
    (GTP, 1973, p.15)

1863        Jun 6, A SF Sheriff and hired roughs prepared to evict the settlers of the Colma Hills region. The settlers prepared to do battle but were advised by Judge Crockett to not fight and await a federal ruling.
    (GTP, 1973, p.12)(LaPen, 12/86, p.4,5)

1863        Oct 23, The railroad came to the SF peninsula. Some 400 people swarmed into 6 cars and rode to San Mateo’s Francisquito Creek to join a picnic as guests of the railroad management. The first stop out of SF was near the school house where Mission St. and Old San Pedro Road met. The depot was called Schoolhouse station.
    (GTP, 1973, p.73)

1863        John Meussendorffer built a 22 room mansion in an area later to be called the Crocker Tract. John Meussendorf had established the first hat making company in SF and was the premier hat maker in the City.
    (BG-2012)(http://tinyurl.com/ch5qf4g)

1864        St. Anne’s Church in Colma was first dedicated.
    (GTP, 1973, p.105)

1865        Dec 15, Robert S. Thornton led the settler’s case to the US Supreme Court, which ruled in favor of the Colma settlers and title to the lands was granted them.
    (GTP, 1973, p.13)

1865        John D. Daly acquired the 1,000 (250) acre Hohenworth (Holenworth) Ranch in Colma. [see 1868]
    (Ind, 10/7/00,5A)

1865        Henry R. Payson acquired 5,473 acres of the former Visitacion Rancho and soon subdivided it with the Visitacion Land Co. acquiring the largest portion.
    (GTP, 1973, p.128)

1866        The Jefferson School District was formed.
    (GTP, 1973, p.29)

1867        May 5, John D. Husing, a German immigrant, developed a general store on Mission St. around the corner from Joe Hill’s store by Old San Pedro Rd. The Husing store later became a saloon called the White House Gardens.
    (GTP, 1973, p.15)
1867        A new school was built on 2 lots donated by Peter Dunks at the site where the Jefferson School Annex now stands. It closed from Dec. to Mar. so that children could help with spring plowing and planting. Peter Brooks and Robert Thornton were the trustees.
    (GTP, 1973, p.29)

1868        Jul 24, Archbishop Alemany dedicated the Catholic Church of St. Anne. It was named after the patron saint of the eldest daughter of Peter Dunks, who donated the land. The church later became the parish of Holy Angels.
    (GTP, 1973, p.16)

c1868    John Donald Daly of the Millbrae area acquired the 250-acre dairy of M. Holenworth near the "Top of the Hill," and renamed it the San Mateo Dairy. He distributed his products from 1010 Valencia in SF and sold under the name Dairy Delivery Company.
    (GTP, 1973, p.23,24)(CHA, 1/2001)

1868        The SF-San Jose railroad line joined the Southern Pacific Railroad and became a part of the statewide system. Farmers of the Colma-Daly City area could now ship to far away markets.
    (GTP, 1973, p.73)

1869        The first Colma village post office opened.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.)

1869        Dec 24, A shoe manufacturing building under construction by the rail depot was leveled by a gale. The owners rebuilt the factory.
    (GTP, 1973, p.16)

1870        Aug 20, A fire destroyed the new shoe manufacturing building by the rail depot. [2nd source says Aug 29]
    (GTP, 1973, p.16)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.18)

1870        A saloon named Sweeney’s was built on the corner of Mission and Market. It was later sold to George M. Collopy who built a large brown shake building that was used for dances and other entertainment. It was torn down in 1970.
    (GTP, 1973, p.50)

1871        A homestead craze struck the SF area and a new homestead called the Abbey Homestead was planned from Vista Grande Ave. to past Holy Cross cemetery. The homestead was named after a tavern built at the "Top of the Hill" that served a landmark to travelers for 50 years. The streets of the homestead were to be named after European statesmen and generals such as: Gambetta, Moltke, Bismarck and Thiers. The development failed but the street names remained. Another development by the School House Homestead Association laid out a tract west of the Colma business district with 13 streets running north south from the juncture of San Pedro and Mission.
    (GTP, 1973, p.17)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.26)

1874        The Jefferson School District was divided. The area east and north of San Bruno Mountain along the Bayshore became the Visitacion District and a new school house was built.
    (GTP, 1973, p.32)
1874        A tunnel was carved through the solid Franciscan rock for Hibernia Bank cofounder Richard Tobin. He wanted to be able to ride his buggy back and forth between his family’s city home and their house in Rockaway Beach, Pacifica, south of Daly City, Ca.. Nature delivered the coup de grace to Tobin’s Folly in 1906, when the SF earthquake reportedly knocked off most of the rock tunnel and threw it into the ocean.
    (http://www.princetonbytheseamemories.com/?p=898)
     

1876        W.C. Ralston organized the Union Pacific Silk Manufacturing Co. in the Bayshore District. After a few years it moved to SSF.
    (GTP, 1973, p.112)

1877        Dampness and a potato blight reached a peak of severity in the Colma Hills and most settlers left but for a few Irish families. Potato seeds from Oregon, known as Garnet Chili, were brought in and proved impervious to the plight. Cattle raising and dairying proved profitable on larger tracts. Italians bought into the area and planted artichokes, cabbage and flowers.
    (GTP, 1973, p.5,6)

1880        Emperor Norton died and had an elaborate funeral sponsored by the Pacific Union Club at a cost of $10,000. His remains were later moved from the Masonic Cemetery to Woodlawn Cemetery with a marble tombstone inscribed: Norton I...Emperor of the United States and Protector of Mexico. Joshua A. Norton 1815-1880. Dr. Robert Burns Aird (d.2000) later composed a musical based on Norton's life. The organization E Clampus Vitius later proceeded to hold an annual memorial services at his Colma grave site.
    (HFA, '96, p.65)(G&M, 7/30/97, p.A24)(SFC, 2/22/00, p.A20)(CHA, 1/2001)
1883        The Brooks and Carey Saloon opened on Mission Road, Colma, Ca. It was later renamed the Brooksville Hotel. Frank Molloy purchased the place from Patrick Brooks in 1929 and renamed it Molloy's. In 2012 the purchase date was said to be 1927.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)(SSFC, 3/8/09, p.E8)(SFC, 6/14/12, p.C3)

1884        Charles Crocker acquired 3,814 acres of the Visitacion Rancho.
    (GTP, 1973, p.128)

1884        Charles Crocker acquired San Bruno Mountain.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.11A)

1885        Charles Crocker acquired an additional 183 acres of the Visitacion Rancho.
    (GTP, 1973, p.128)

1887        The Roman Catholic Church consecrated Holy Cross cemetery south of Colma on Mission Road.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)

1887        A bond issue was passed to make repairs on the old school and to put up a new building. The new 2-room school had a pot-bellied stove and served 80-90 students.
    (GTP, 1973, p.29)

1888        Home of Peace was established as a Jewish cemetery.
    (GTP, 1973, p.)

1888        Colma became the official name of the former School House Depot area.
    (GTP, 1973, p.29)

1888        Charles Crocker died and San Bruno Mountain became an asset of the Crocker Land Co.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.11A)

1889        The Weekly Reader, the parent paper of the DC Record was founded. It was later purchased by John Marchbank who renamed it.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.16)

1889        The Hills of Peace (Home of Peace) and Hills of Eternity Jewish cemeteries were established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)(www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1891        The land of Charles Crocker, that included San Bruno Mountain, passed to the Crocker Land Co. and then to the Foremost McKesson Co.
    (GTP, 1973, p.128)
1891        The Salem memorial Park Jewish cemetery was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1892        A trolley line from SF reached Daly’s Hill.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.5)
1892        Cypress Lawn, a non-sectarian cemetery, was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)(www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1893        The San Francisco-San Mateo Railroad Company began service to Daly City on a line referred to as the Joost Line. Branch lines were later run to the cemeteries
    (GTP, 1973, p.73)
1893        The Salem Jewish cemetery was established.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)
1894        The Italian Cemetery was established.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)

1894        A school bond issue was passed that led to the building of the Vista Grande school at Mission and Vista Grande, now demolished.
    (GTP, 1973, p.30)

1894        The Colma Vegetable Growers reported shipping 1,742,825 pounds of cabbage from the region.
    (GTP, 1973, p.62)

1895        In San Francisco a 3-story, Queen Anne style home was built at 900 Guerrero St. It was designed by Charles Havens for John Daly, the dairy farmer after whom Daly City is named.
    (SSFC, 6/15/14, p.C2)
1895        A quarry called The California Rock & Asphalt Inc. was founded on the side of San Bruno mountain just outside Brisbane. In 2004 a proposal, dormant since 2001, re-surfaced to close the quarry and build 183 homes on the site.
    (Ind, 3/20/04, p.1A)

1896        Henry Doelger (d.1978), SF and Daly City home builder, was born in SF.
    (www.dalycityhistory.org/westlake/doelgerprofile.htm)

1896        The Olivet Memorial Park non-denominational cemetery was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1896        Gaetano and Leopoldo Bocci, immigrant Italian stone masons, opened a gravestone company on Mission Blvd. in Colma. The last of the stone carving Boccis closed the business in 2004. In 2009 the business re-opened under new Russian owners.
    (SFC, 6/25/09, p.A11)

1898        William J. Savage became principal of the Jefferson School and served until 1918.
    (GTP, 1973, p.31)

1899        The Italian cemetery in Lawndale (Colma), Ca., was established.
    (Ind, 11/28/98, p.5A)(www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1901        The Serbian Cemetery, the Eternal Home Cemetery (Jewish) and the Japanese Cemetery were established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)
1903        The Greenlawn cemetery, also called Old Fellows Cemetery, was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)(www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1903        James W. Coffroth, aka Sunshsine Jim, secured a license for sparring exhibitions from San Mateo County officials. He built an arena on Sickles Ave., within 50 feet of the SF line.
    (GTP, 1973, p.57)
1903        The San Francisco-San Mateo Railroad Company extended its service down to San Mateo.
    (GTP, 1973, p.73)
1904        Greyhound racing was popular at the Union Coursing Park, later the site of Jefferson High School. However a wave of public sentiment brought a law that made coursing races illegal and ended activities at Union Park.
    (GTP, 1973, p.56)

1904        The Woodlawn Memorial Park non-denominational cemetery was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1905        Jul 15, The picture of a greyhound dog covered half the page of this day’s sports section of the SF Call newspaper.
    (GTP, 1973, p.56)

1905        Sep 9, In Daly City, Ca., Battling Nelson, the "Durable Dane," kayoed Jimmy Britt in the 18th round at the Sickles St. Arena of James W. Coffroth. A film of the event recorded by the Miles Brothers made over $100,000.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.22)(Ind, 3/22/03, 5A)(SFC, 5/3/14, p.C2)

1905        The Woodlawn Memorial Park cemetery, also known as the Masonic Burial Ground, was established.
    (GTP, 1973, p.45)

1906        Apr 18, The big earthquake drove scores of people south toward the Colma Hills away from the devastation in SF. Landowners were persuaded to subdivide their lots and deeds were sold from $200-300. Homes were constructed for as little as $1,500.
    (GTP, 1973, p.27,28)

1906        The Red Cross devised and built standardized temporary houses that measured about 14 x 18 feet and came in 2-3 room designs. They were designed to see people through the winter and to be moved from public property by Aug of 1907.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.3)

1906-1916    In Daly City, Ca., businesses made gas out of oil at 731 Schwerin St.
    (SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)

1907        Jun 12, A committee from the Vista Grande Improvement Club (Daly City, Ca.) was appointed to arrange for a volunteer fire department and a fire alarm system.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1907        Jul 4, Heavy weight champ Tommy Burns (1881-1955) knocked out Bill Squires of Australia in the first round in Colma, Ca.
    (http://boxrec.com/media/index.php/Tommy_Burns)

1907        Aug 2, Fire Chief George Edmonds called roll call at Poket’s Hall for the 45 members of the newly organized Vista Grande Fire Dept. members were ordered to respond to calls with their own buckets until equipment could be purchased. The area population (Daly city, Ca.) was estimated at 2,900.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1907        Summer, A thriving business was begun moving the temporary earthquake houses in SF by wagon to private lots. Lots in Daly City were offered for a total price of $400 payable at $10 down and $10 a month.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.4)

1907        Sep 2, Middleweights Stanley Ketchel and Joe Thomas fought a 32-round match at the Sickles St. Arena of James W. Coffroth.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.22)(Ind, 3/22/03, 5A)

1907        Oct 2, Another railroad began serving the SF peninsula. The Ocean Shore Railroad ran from 12th and Mission across the peninsula on what is now Alemany Blvd. to Daly City, Broadmoor, Thornton Beach and down the coast to the end of the line at Santa Cruz.
    (GTP, 1973, p.74)

1907        John Daly broke up his 250-acre dairy ranch and sold all the land except for 3-4 acres between San Jose and Mission St. The ranch was subdivided and became what is now Daly City
    (GTP, 1973, p.24)(CHA, 1/2001)
1907        The Sunset View Cemetery was established in Lawndale (Colma), Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1908        Apr, The Wooster Company, a private water provider (Daly City, Ca.), allowed the first hydrants to be installed on its water system.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1908        Aug 22, A petition was published proposing the incorporation of the City of Vista Grande, with boundaries from the bay to the ocean, north to SF, and south to SSF. A development called Visitacion City was proposed but lots failed to sell and the project died.
    (GTP, 1973, p.79,124)

1908        Sep, John W. Marchbank arrived in Colma from Alaska where he had operated a casino named the Northern. He soon opened a local casino with the same name. He later opened the A Mon Chateau, at Junipero Serra and School St.  for higher class gamblers. Its name was later changed to the Villa Mateo.
    (Ind, 11/18/00, 5A)

1908        A post office named Vista Grande was established on Daly’s Hill.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.4)

1908        James Casey got elected to the Board of Supervisors for the express purpose of fixing the roads. He induced Santa Clara, San Mateo and SF to pass resolutions asking that Mission St.-El Camino Real be made a state highway.
    (GTP, 1973, p.66)

1908        Pacific Gas and Electric co. acquired a gas-making company in Daly City, Ca. Wastes contained lamp-black, a finely powdered carbon, and thick, sticky tars containing cancer-causing compounds.
    (SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)

1909        Oct, Stanley Ketchell, middleweight champion, fought with Jack Johnson, the first Negro heavyweight world’s champion in Daly City at the Sickles St. Arena. Johnson knocked Ketchell out before a paying crowd of 3,400.
    (GTP, 1973, p.58)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.22)(Ind, 3/22/03, 5A)
1910      Nov 25, "The Crocker Improvement Club thoroughly discussed the subject of incorporation and unanimously passed resolutions favoring the same."
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.15)

1910        Dec 16, The Colma Record under J.L. Brown later noted that the name Daly City emerged as a candidate for the area known as Vista Grande.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.15)

1910        Jim Casey induced the SF Motor Club to sponsor a show at Tanforan with the proceeds going to road improvement. Air pilots, balloonists, and glider pilots joined the first automobile drivers and demonstrated their skills.
    (GTP, 1973, p.66)

1911        Jan 16, A petition was filed with the San Mateo County supervisors to incorporate the City of Daly City. The boundaries proposed were determined by building tracts that ran south of SF along the San Bruno Hills to Price and School Streets and west to the summit of the hills. The population was estimated at 2,900.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.8)

1911        Mar 18, A vote was held for the incorporation of Daly City, Ca. The voting place was the upstairs backroom of Jack Letlos’ Restaurant on Mission Rd. The vote was for 132, against 130. Also passed in the vote was the new official name of Daly City in honor of John Daly.
    (GTP, 1973, p.84)(LaPen, 12/86, p.4)

1911        Mar 22, Daly City was incorporated by a vote of 138-136.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.6)

1911        Mar 24, The Colma Record published the official election results indicating the vote at 138 vs. 136. A copy of the page was here reprinted.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.14)

1911        Jul 4, A city christening parade was held.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.25)

1911        Otto Reichardt established the Reichardt Duck Farm in unincorporated Colma along 29 acres of Old Mission Rd.
    (Ind, 4/17/99, p.5A)

1911        The City Council appointed Walter J. White as the first City Clerk.
    (Tattler, 3/99)

1911-1912    Edward Freyer was the first mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)
1911-1914    The Daly City Council met in various places, usually in buildings along Mission St.
    (GTP, 1973, p.102)

1912        Oct 28, Daly City passed Ordnance #46, which stated "It will be unlawful to engage in disorderly or immoral dancing…i.e. Turkey Trot, Bunny Hug, Texas Tommy." A fine of $50 or both could be exacted from offenders.
    (Tattler, 9/01)

1912-1945    The number of acres in Colma and Daly City planted with cabbage reached 10,000.
    (GTP, 1973, p.62)

1912-1916    B.C. Ross was the 2nd mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1913        San Mateo County voters passed a bond issue for $1,250,000 that was matched by the state and used to connect Colma and Daly City to the coastside villages, and improve School St. and Spring Valley Blvd, now a part of 87th St. The funds also provided for Junipero Serra Highway.
    (GTP, 1973, p.66)
1913        The voters of Daly City approved a bond issue of $100,000 to: install a water system where it was most needed; to purchase the existing Crocker system and wells; and to build a pump house and a reservoir of a million gallon capacity. The area served was bound by Citrus Ave. on the south, the SP railroad on the west, Hillside Blvd. on the east and the city limits on the north.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)
1913        The PG&E plant east of Cow Palace closed down. Since 1906 it had processed oil into gas and left deposits of coal tar and lampblack, later identified as carcinogenic polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons. Soil from the property was used as fill for military housing during WW II.
    (SFC, 3/10/98, p.A14)(SFC, 1/5/00, p.A12)(SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1914-1938    The first City Hall was built at 75 Wellington Ave. for $6,000. It was a 2-story wood frame building with a dance hall on the 2nd floor.
    (GTP, 1973, p.102)

1915        The California legislature outlawed boxing and ended Colma’s golden decade of boxing.
    (Ind, 3/22/03, 5A)

1915        A new water system was placed into service in Daly City, Ca., and tested in front of the new City Hall on Wellington Ave.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)
1915        The Lagomarsino family of Daly City employed dozens of women to pick violets and fashion them into bouquets and boutonnieres for the World’s Fair in SF. The next generation of the family branched into real estate and built the apartment houses along Hillside Blvd. in Daly City and Colma.
    (GTP, 1973, p.118)
1915        By this year 15 out of 49 businesses in the Daly City area were saloons or businesses that served liquor.
    (GTP, 1973, p.50)
1915        The population of Daly City, Ca., reached 5,000 people.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)
1916        Feb, A branch of the San Mateo County Free Library opened in James Casey’s meat market in Daly City. Within a year it was moved to Pettingill’s Mercantile. Until this time 3 women had served as Book Custodians for DC readers, the last being Mrs. Frank Woodhouse, wife of the Mayor.
    (Tattler, 1/03)

1916        Over 450 acres in Colma were devoted to raising violets. 100 dozen bunches were taken to SF daily.
    (GTP, 1973, p.59)

1916-1918    Frank B. Woodhouse was the 3rd mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1917        The Woodrow Wilson Elementary school on Santa Barbara Ave. was constructed. It was later rebuilt.
    (GTP, 1973, p.30)

1918        William J. Savage became superintendent of the entire Jefferson Elementary School district and served until 1931.
    (GTP, 1973, p.30)

1918-1936    H.H. Smith was the 4th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1919        Phoebe Apperson Hearst (77), wife of Senator George Hearst and mother of William Randolph Hearst, died in the influenza epidemic. She had donated an estimated $25 million to UC Berkeley, hospitals, schools, senior centers, art galleries and other institutions. She was buried at Cypress Lawn in Colma.
    (SFEM, 10/24/99, p.20)(CHA, 1/2001)

c1919        Shortly after WW I John William Marchbank purchased the Tanforan Race Track and later the Daly City Record. Marchbank contribute heavily to the Daly City Library and gave the city the park that bears his name.
    (GTP, 1973, p.53,54)

1920        Apr 25, Daly City’s first library opened at 6351 Mission St. on land donated by John Daly and John Marchbank. It was expanded 3-fold in the 1930s. The back room was dedicated to young readers and called the "Happy Children’s Room."
    (GDCH, 1986, p.14)(Tattler, 1/03)

1920        By this year it was estimated that 20% of the land in northern San Mateo County was used to raise flowers.
    (GTP, 1973, p.59)
1920        The last run of the SF-Santa Cruz Ocean Shore Railroad was made.
    (GTP, 1973, p.74)

1921        In California the Daly City Fire Dept. volunteers began publishing “The Alarm," a department newsletter.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)
1921        Aug, Rev. Patrick Heslin of Holy Angels Church in Colma was kidnapped. William A. Hightower (41) was later convicted of Heslin’s murder and served 44 years in prison. He was paroled in 1965 at age 86.
    (SFEC, 3/1/98, p.W20)

1921        V. Fontana & Co., the Colma tombstone-making operation, was started by Valerio Fontana, an immigrant from Italy.
    (SFC, 8/1/98, p.D1)

1922        Aug 5, A bond issue was voted to provide $180,000 for a new school.
    (GTP, 1973, p.41)

1922        The Jefferson Union High School District of Daly City and Pacifica was founded with Neil O. Best as the head of a faculty of three teachers.
    (SFC,10/29/97, p.A18)(GTP, 1973, p.41)

1923        Mar 29, Voters selected the old Union Coursing Park on Mission St., #6996, as the site of the new Jefferson High School.
    (GTP, 1973, p.41)

1923        Jan 1, John Daly (b.1841), for whom Daly City is named, died and was buried at Woodlawn Cemetery in Colma. He was from Boston and had arrived in the Bay Area alone at age 13 via the Isthmus of Panama, where his mother died of yellow fever.
    (CHA, 1/2001)(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Donald_Daly)

1923        Mission Auto Camp was established by J.L. Vasey at 6843 Mission Street, providing tents and small cabins for patrons.
    (BG-2012)(http://tinyurl.com/bwzyjex)

1923        The Daly City Council voted to pay fire department volunteers $1 for their services.
    (BG-2012)

1924        Aug 5, The San Francisco Bay Area town of Colma was incorporated under the name “Lawndale." The name was changed in December, 1941, as the US Post Office declared that there was another Lawndale in California.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)
1924        Oct 11, The owners of the cemeteries and adjoining lands agreed to incorporate into a town called Memorial Park. The name was not permitted because it was already in use by the county. The name Lawndale was accepted but rejected by the US Post Office. They settled on the old name of Colma. [see 1941]
    (GTP, 1973, p.104)

1924        Voters approved a bond issue to replace the old Crocker water system.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)
1925        Daly City took over all Fire Department property and paid firemen $1.00 per year to assure compensation from the newly formed State Industrial Accident Association.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)
1925        Voters approved a tax increase for local schools.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)

1926        The large ranches in the Colma hills were broken up to make "little farms" of 1-2 1/2 acres or more. This movement proceeded on down the peninsula.
    (GTP, 1973, p.64)

1928        Voters approved a tax increase for local schools.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)

1928        The Daly City Fire Department in the Crocker Tract completed the building of a new fire engine at a cost of $746.52.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1929        Jan 13, Frontiersman Wyatt Earp died in LA, Ca., after an illustrious life in the West. Cowboy stars William S. Hart and Tom Mix served as pallbearers. Born in Illinois in 1848, he served as a lawman in Wichita and Dodge City, Kansas, as well as Tombstone, Arizona Territory, where Wyatt and his brothers Morgan and Virgil were notorious for violent clashes with outlaws. Western historians have disagreed about the particulars of Wyatt Earp's life, but he is said to have been a freighter-teamster, railroad construction worker, policeman, prisoner, saloon keeper and horse farmer, and he was involved in several gunfights--for reasons that may or may not have been related to law enforcement. When Morgan was killed, Wyatt avenged his death by killing Frank Stilwell, an outlaw he had previously arrested. Wyatt Berry Stapp Earp died and was buried in Colma, Ca.
    (HNPD, 1/12/99)(SFEC, 3/14/99, Z1 p.10)(MesWP)(CHA, 1/2001)

1929        Frank Molloy purchased the Brooksville Hotel on Mission Road from Patrick Brooks and renamed it Molloy's.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1930        Daly City annexed a portion of Colma and the new Fire Dept. Company 6 formed.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1930        Daly City’s first Well Baby Clinic opened under the sponsorship of the Red Cross and the city’s PTAs.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.14)
1930        A promoter, who was said to have lived in Australia, began to develop the area on the east side of San Bruno Mountain that he called "Brisbane on the Bay." Another story holds that Arthur Ennis, the agent for the tract, named it in honor of columnist Arthur Brisbane.
    (GTP, 1973, p.124)
1930        Edgar Wakefield McLellan retired from his Burlingame flower business that boasted some 324,000 square feet of glass houses. He had pioneered the shipment of flowers to cities across the US. The operation was taken over by his son Roderick and moved to a 61 acre site in Colma.
    (PI, 1/24/98, p.5)

1931        The Daly City Fire Dept., through a variety of fundraising and member contributions, outfitted all personnel in dress uniforms.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1932        Dec 28, An irregular portion of the populated area of the Bayshore was incorporated as Bayshore City with Robert J. Hatch as mayor. The councilmen were J.P. Lawson, J. Franzer, Herbert A. Ford, and Ernest Durbin. The chief attraction was a race course and dog racing was the chief industry.
    (GTP, 1973, p.112)

1933        In Daly City Our Lady of Perpetual Help school opened as a temporary four-classroom building. It was the first area parochial school. A new school building was erected in 1947.
    (BG-2012)(http://www.olphdc.org/mission.html)

1933-1934    Coit Tower was built with $100,000 in funds bequeathed by Lillie Hitchcock Coit. It was designed by Arthur Brown Jr. and contains frescoes by Mexican artist Diego Rivera. Eliza Wychie Hitchcock Coit died at age 88 and rests in Cypress Lawn, Colma.
    (SFEC, 11/3/96, DB p.33)(HT, 5/97, p.14)(CHA, 1/2001)

1934        Apr 9, Election day. H.H. Smith was re-elected mayor.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88,91)

1934        The Daly City budget for the Fire Dept. budget was set at $5,000.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1934        The Italian Country Flower Shop opened in Colma and was run by Ida Pellicci and her daughter Ida.
    (Ind, 11/28/98, p.5A)

1935        Nov, Groundbreaking ceremonies for Cow Palace were held on 25 acres of land in Visitacion Valley. The original owners were C.H. "Bert" Sooy, a SF lawyer; George J. Giannini, a wholesale fruit and produce merchant; R.B. Henderson, a SF city official; Thomas L. Hickey, a San Mateo County Supervisor; Robert P. Holliday, newspaper publisher; Charles S. Howard, automobile dealer and sportsman; R.B. Krobitsch and Ernest Drury, hotel men. Sooy raised more than $1,900,000 from federal, state, local and private interests. "While people are being evicted from their homes, a palace is being built for cows."
    (GTP, 1973, p.113)
1935        The first Daly City Fireman’s Ball was held for the benefit of the Widows and Orphans Fund.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1935        Nicholas Doukas (d.1974 at 85) opened the Greek Orthodox Memorial Park cemetery, the only one in the US, at the site of a heather farm in Colma, Ca.
    (CHA, 1/2001)(www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1935        Bones from the SF Odd Fellows Cemetery, established in 1865 on the slope of Lone Mountain at Stanyon St., were moved to Colma.
    (SFCM, 1/18/04, p.12)

1935        Ida Pellicci, as a representative of the Marconi Club, was elected Queen for the Columbus Day Parade.
    (Ind, 11/28/98, p.5A)

1936        Greenhouse fern growing became a major industry and 28 acres of the Colma Hills were under glass. Hog raising also became popular and 43,000 hogs were reported in San Mateo County.
    (GTP, 1973, p.60,64)
1936        Voters approved a tax increase for local schools.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)
1936        The entire streetcar line through Daly City was shifted and new pavement was laid over the center lines on Mission St. Later service ceased beyond the Top of the Hill, which remained the terminus for SF car 14 [through at least 1973].
    (GTP, 1973, p.74)

1936-1940    Paul G. Selmi was the 5th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1938        May 6, The Daly City Record reported that the Jefferson High School gymnasium and pool were opened for use. Also National Auto Ford at 7370 Mission offered a new Tudor sedan for $729.
    (Tattler, 5/98)

1938        Aug 15, Former SF Supervisor Andrew J. Gallagher, representing the directors of Agricultural District 1-A, said the “Int’l. Live Stock Show Pavilion" will hereafter be called “The Cow Palace." The new building in Daly City opened in 1941.
    (SSFC, 8/11/13, DB p.42)(SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)

1938        In Daly City a new air horn system went into service at 4 Fire Dept. locations: Niantic Pump Station, City Hall on Wellington St., Company 4 on Peoria St and station 6 on Werner St.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1938-1939    The Visitacion School District was divided and a new Bayshore School District was established.
    (GTP, 1973, p.32)

1939        Aug 22, It was Daly City Day at the Golden Gate Int’l. Exposition on Treasure Island.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.14)

1939        The attorney general of California ruled that dog racing was illegal.
    (GTP, 1973, p.112)
1939        The population of Daly City, Ca., reached 12,000.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1939-1967    The city’s 2nd City Hall was in operation.
    (GTP, 1973, p.95)

1940-1942    John F. Fahey was the 6th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1941        Nov 15, San Francisco’s Cow Palace opened in Daly City, Ca. Construction labor was largely supplied by the WPA.
    (GTP, 1973, p.113)(SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)

1941        Colma annexed the cemetery city of Lawndale. [see 1924]
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.5)

1942        Aug 16, The US Navy L-8 patrol blimp crash-landed at 419 Bellevue St., Daly City, Ca., after drifting in from the ocean. The ship’s crew, Lt. Ernest Dewitt Cody (27) and Ensign Charles E. Adams (38), were missing and no trace of them was ever found.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.17)(Ind, 5/3/03, p.5A)
1942        The first SF Sport and Boat Show was held at Cow Palace.
    (SFEM, 1/11/98, p.2)
1942        Passenger service on the Southern Pacific horseshoe line, through Brisbane, South San Francisco, Daly City and back to SF, ceased.
    (GTP, 1973, p.73)

1942-1946    Anthony J. Gaggero was the 7th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1943        The Colma Town Hall on El Camino Real was leased to the US Army Engineer Corps.
    (BG-2012)

1943        In Daly City an Army fighter plane crashed on Alexander Avenue, killing the pilot.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1944        The US Navy built the Midway Village housing complex in Daly City, Ca., next to the former PG&E gas plant site off Bayshore Blvd. Plant residues were used to fill the marshland of the complex site.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)(SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)

1945        Oct, Henry and Ellis Stoneson formulated plans to build Broadmoor Village, one of the 1st major post-war subdivisions. The 1,500 homes were surrounded by Colma and Daly City.
    (Ind, 11/30/02, 5A)

1945        The firm of Henry Doelger purchased 1,350 acres that stretched east and west of the developed section of Daly City to the ocean and south from Lake Merced to the Pacifica Hills. This land of pig ranches and cabbage patches was purchased from the Spring Valley Water Co., which had acquired it from the owners of the old Laguna de la Merced Rancho. He made plans to build a subdivision that came to be called Westlake.
    (GTP, 1973, p.107,109)

1946        Apr-Dec, James P. Green was the 8th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1946        The US Grand National Rodeo began an uninterrupted string of yearly shows at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca.
    (SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)

1946-1948    Melford B. Battye was the 9th mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1947        Sep, By this month the Stoneson Co. had laid Sweetwood and Louvaine Streets in Broadmoor and erected enough homes for the first families to move in. A little creek ran up the middle of the street that became MacArthur Dr. Broadmoor remained an unincorporated area.
    (GTP, 1973, p.115)

1947        Voters of Daly City approved a tax increase for local schools.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)
1947        The Pet’s Rest Cemetery was established in Colma, Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1948-1949    Anthony J. Gaggero was again elected mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1948-1962    Henry Doelger build the Westlake subdivision of Daly City. The first lot was sold to Harley and Esther Appleton with a $1 downpayment.
    (GTP, 1973, p.107)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.2)
1949        Mar, In Daly City, Ca., groundbreaking ceremonies took place for the Westlake Town and Country shopping Center. Henry Doelger created the Westlake Subdivision Improvement Association. Doelger built 32 separate subdivisions with the same set of by-laws, but each one had a separate set of covenant conditions and restrictions (CC&Rs). The original by-laws barred non-Caucasians from purchasing property in Westlake.
    (Ind, 6/22/99, p.1A)(DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1949        Oct 14, Pat Valentino (1920-2008), SF boxer, was knocked out by Ezzard Charles in the 8th round at the Cow Palace in a boxing heavy-weight match before a crowd of 19,950.
    (SFC, 8/8/08, p.B5)

1949        Dec, The Daly City Firefighters joined with the community based Operation Santa Claus program to provide food and Christmas toys to the disadvantaged in the community.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)   

1949        Daly City voters approved bonds for a War Memorial Building.
    (Ind, 11/30/02, 5A)

1949        The Colma Theater with 2 connected stores rose up for $145,000.
    (Ind, 11/30/02, 5A)

1949-1952    James P. Green was again elected mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1950        A private group invested $150,000 for a 17-lane bowling alley in Daly City.
    (Ind, 11/30/02, 5A)

1950        The Serra Theater on Junipero Serra Blvd. opened with evening movies showing for 30 cents. It was closed in the early 1980s.
    (Ind, 8/3/99, p.11A)

1950s    Federal officials returned the former PG&E plant side east of Cow Palace to PG&E. The military housing was deeded to San Mateo County.
    (SFC, 3/10/98, p.A14)

1950s-60s    Gus Pedemonte, a Colma resident, led a firm that developed apartment complexes in the vicinity of Price and Garibaldi Streets, and others from 88th Street to the Daly City Civic Center on 90th and from Sullivan Ave. to the heart of Broadmoor.
    (GTP, 1973, p.118)

1951        Jan 16, Daly City, Ca., hired its first 6 paid firefighters. Volunteers still provided additional staffing at all stations.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)   

1952        The Daly City War Memorial was dedicated with special honor to the 26 local veterans who died in WW II. In 2003 a $12.5 million reconstruction was planned.
    (Ind, 11/15/03, p.1A)
1952        Daly City’s Central Station, later renumbered as Station 91, was constructed at 151 Lake Merced Blvd.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1952-1954    Anthony J. Gaggero served again as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1953        San Francisco Archbishop Mitty established a new parish in the developing Westlake area of Daly City.
    (BG-2012)

1954        Oct 29, Henry Doelger fulfilled his New year’s resolution to build 1,000 homes in Westlake, Daly City. Sales reached 6 per day and the community’s population grew to 11,235.
    (SFC, 10/29/04, p.F11)

1954        John Madden, born in Minnesota, graduated from Jefferson High School in Daly City, Ca., after attending middle school at Our Lady of Perpetual Help.
    (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Madden)

1954-1958    Joseph J. Verducci served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1955        The US Navy turned over the Midway Village, Daly City, site to San Mateo County, Ca., for public housing and schools.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)(SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)

1955        Daly City adopted the Council-Manager form of city government, while Dan E. Anderson served as city administrator.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)

1955-1958    The City Manager was Howard Sites.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)

1956        Aug 20, The Republican Convention opened at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca.
    (SFEC, 5/16/99, Z1 p.4)

1956        The Daly City Hillside Homeowner's Association was formed.
    (Ind, 5/11/99, p.4A)

1956        Westmoor High School opened and Tony Giammona (d.2005) began a 27 year career as coach there. He later served for 26 years on the Daly City Council and became known as "Mr. Daly City." In 1999 he was inducted into the San Mateo Sports Hall of Fame.
    (Ind, 7/6/99, p.1A)(SFC, 7/29/05, p.B7)
1956        Bruno Scatena opened Joe’s of Westlake in Daly City, Ca. In 2013 the restaurant was sold to the Duggan family. Tony Rodin, the grandfather of John Duggan, had opened the first Original Joe’s on Taylor St. in SF in 1937. In 1939 Rodin partnered with Scatena to open Original Joe’s No. 2 at Chestnut and Fillmore.  
    (SFC, 11/28/13, p.E1)

1956        The population of Daly City, Ca., reached 30,506.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1957        Feb 7, George McKeon of the Zita Corp. announced that St. Francis Heights would be a $50 million development.
    (GTP, 1973, p.117)

1957        Mar 22, An earthquake, centered in Daly City, Ca., hit the SF Bay Area and caused extensive damage to Mary’s Help Hospital.
    (Ind, 8/11/01, 5A)(CW, Winter 04, p.45)(DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1957        The Zita Corp. moved its equipment into Daly City and began home construction on a 276 acre plot.
    (GTP, 1973, p.117)

1957        The first Annual Daly City Police and Fire Baseball game, held at Marchbank Park, was won by the fire dept.
    (GTP, 1973, p.100)(DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1957        The Daly City Scavenger Company opened the Mussel Rock Landfill downhill from Westline Drive. It was closed in 1978.
    (SFC, 4/21/00, p.A22)

1957-1979    Rev. Herbert C. Tweedie (d.1998) served as the pastor of the Broadmoor Presbyterian Church.
    (SFC, 1/20/98, p.A18)

1958        Jan 16, The Daly City Record carried a picture of graded lots that had been sold to home seekers.
    (GTP, 1973, p.117)

1958        Apr 27, Billy Graham began a 6-week Bay Area crusade at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca. Some 18,000 crowded inside as another 5,000 stood in the parking lot. Graham began a 3-day revival crusade at the Cow Palace that drew nearly 700,000 people.
    (SFC, 10/1/96, p.D1)(SSFC, 4/27/08, DB p.58)

1958        Nov 13, As many as 79 units were being started each month in St. Francis Heights. At completion the project consisted of over 2,000 homes, a multi-million shopping center, and 3 schools: Daniel Webster, M. Pauline Brown, and Christopher Columbus. In the north it met Broadmoor Village while its southern rim extended into the Serramonte portions of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.117)

1958        The Serra Theater opened at 2710 Junipero Serra Blvd. In 1995 it became the home of the Serra Coffee Co. In 1998 it was scheduled to be torn down for a new Hampton Inn Hotel.
    (Ind, 4/21/98, p.1)

1958        Vista Grande School opened to serve children in the Hillside area.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.14)

1958        Evangelist Billy Graham held a 3-day revival crusade at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca., that drew nearly 700,000 people.
    (SFC, 10/1/96, p.D1)(SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)

1958-1959    Michael R. DeBernardi served as mayor of Daly City. The City Manager was George W. Watts.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88,90)


1958-1983    Samuel Chandler served as the Librarian of Daly City.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.16)

1959        The St. Francis Heights Improvement Assoc. was started.
    (GTP, 1973, p.118)

1959        The Reichardt Duck Farm on Old Mission Rd. was forced to close for development of the El Camino High School. The farm was moved to Petaluma.
    (Ind, 4/17/99, p.5A)

1959-1960    Edward J. Dennis served as mayor of Daly City. He was also a noted labor leader.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88,89)

1960        Nov 2, Democratic presidential candidate John F. Kennedy told an audience of 20,000 at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca., that the US should establish a Peace Corps. The idea was first presented 3 weeks earlier at the Univ. of Michigan.
    (www.peacecorpswriters.org/pages/2000/0009/009indexp1.html)

1960        The musical "Dear Old Colma" was written and produced at Broadmoor Presbyterian Church on 87th St. in Colma.
    (Tattler, 1/98)
1960        In Daly City, Ca., fire Station 95 at 191 Edgemont Drive was placed into service.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1960-1961    Francis P. Pacelli served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1960-1969    Edward Frank served as the City Manager.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)

1960s    Mary’s Help Hospital on Guerrero St. moved to what is now Seton Medical Center in Daly City. Mary Mahoney (d.1997 at 82) played a major role in the move.
    (SFC, 6/14/97, p.C2)

1960s    The DC Rec. Dept. sponsored an annual Doll Show at the War Memorial Building chaired by Ruth Galindo.
    (GDCH, 1986, p.18)

1961        Nov 28, Brisbane became the official name of the general law city when it incorporated.
    (GTP, 1973, p.124)
1961        The Daly City Golden Jubilee Parade lasted 2 hours and included 130 entries.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.25)
1961        Thomas Dove reported that the birth rate in Daly City was 707 babies per 1000 women, about double the national average.
    (GTP, 1973, p.129)
1961        The 44-lane Serra Bowl opened on Junipero Serra Blvd. in Daly City. Its closure was announced in 2012.
    (SFC, 3/3/12, p.C2)
1961        The population of Daly City, Ca., reached 43,000.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1961-1962    Robert B. St. Clair served as mayor of Daly City. He was also captain of the SF 49ers football team at this time.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88,89)

1962        Jan 21, Snow fell in the SF Bay Area and accumulated to about 3 inches in Daly City and San Francisco. This was the heaviest local snowfall since 1887.
    (SFC, 2/23/11, p.A10)(SSFC, 1/22/12, DB p.42)

1962        Malvina Reynolds (1900-1978) wrote her song: "Little boxes on the hillside, Little boxes made of ticky tacky..." She came up with the song when she saw the housing developments around Daly City, California built in the post-war era by Henry Doelger, particularly the neighborhood of Westlake. The song became a hit for her friend Pete Seeger in 1963.
    (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_Boxes)
1962        Franklin Mieuli (1920-2010), SF Bay Area radio and TV producer, brought the Warriors basketball team from Philadelphia to SF with superstar Wilt Chamberlain. Mr. Mieuli and 32 partners purchased the Warriors from Eddie Gottlieb for $850,000. The SF Warriors basketball team chose the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca., as its new arena. In 1986 Mieuli sold his share in the team to Jim Fitzgerald for a reported $16-19 million.
    (SFEC, 3/1/98, p.W39)(SFEC, 3/1/98, p.W29)(SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)(SFC, 4/26/10, p.A8)

1962-Nov, 1963    Joseph J. Verducci again served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1963        Apr 1, Edwin J. Duggan and his wife, Madeline, opened Duggan’s Serra Mortuary in Colma.
    (Ind, 9/8/98, p.8A)

1963        Daly City’s geographical center was identified and the location became the site for the new City Hall (dedicated in 1967).
    (BG-2012)
1963        The 950-acre center of Daly City, that included the dairy known as the Christen Ranch and the land of Patrick Brooks and other pioneers, changed hands and was renamed Serramonte and slated to become a housing development. The planned community was laid out by the Suburban Realty Company.
    (GTP, 1973, p.119)
1963        Jefferson High School was rebuilt.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)
1963        In Daly City, Ca., the First National Bank of Daly City opened. It was later renamed the First National Bank of Northern California.
    (https://www.fnbnorcal.com/about-us)
1963        The newly formed city of Brisbane announced its desire to annex the San Mateo County lands between its borders and the SF line. A citizens association from Bayshore proposed that the residential area and Cow Palace be annexed to Daly City. A fight ensued and the residents approved the Daly City annexation after legislation failed to pass blocking the annexation of Cow Palace.
    (GTP, 1973, p.113,114)
1963        The Bayshore Fire Dept. was annexed into the Daly City Fire Dept.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1963-1965    Michael R. DeBernardi again served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1964        Jul 15, The Republican National Convention was held at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca. It elected Barry Goldwater as its presidential candidate. John Chancellor was ejected from the convention for blocking an aisle during a demonstration by the delegates.
    (SFC, 7/13/96, p.A5)(WSJ, 8/5/96, p.A10)(AP, 7/15/97)

1964        Jul 16, In accepting the Republican presidential nomination in San Francisco (Cow Palace – Daly City), Sen. Barry M. Goldwater of Arizona said "extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice" and that "moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue."
    (AP, 7/16/97)(SSFC, 7/13/14, DB p.38)

1964        Aug 19, The Beatles performed a concert at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca. They played ten songs to a crowd of over 17,000. The Beatles returned there for another concert in 1965.
    (www.rarebeatles.com/photopg7/sf81964.htm)(SSFC, 8/17/14, DB p.42)

1964        The Suburban Realty Co. planted 80 acres of graded slopes to beautify the new $200,000,000 Serramonte development. The project included 1,126 housing units, the Serramonte High School, the Serramonte Shopping Center (opened in 1968), several grade schools and a 25-acre city park with a public library and fire house. Suburban Realty under the direction of Carl and Fred Gellert also developed the Sunstream Homes of Southern Hills.
    (GTP, 1973, p.119)(SFC, 2/8/02, p.B1)

1965        Aug 31, The Beatles returned to the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca.
    (www.geocities.com/bratbear_51/cowpalacebeatles.html)

1965        Dec 12, The transfer of 26 patients was completed from Mary’s Help Hospital at 145 Guerrero St. to the new $8.4 million 11-story structure in Daly City.
    (Ind, 8/11/01, 5A)

1965        Dec, Mary’s Help Hospital, a 270 bed general hospital later renamed Seton MC, was dedicated.
    (GTP, 1973, p.101)

1965        There was an unsuccessful proposal to slice off the top of San Bruno Mountain for airport landfill. 200 million cubic yards from the mountain were proposed to fill in the Bay for airport expansion. This led to the founding of the Committee to Save San Bruno Mountain.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.A1,11)

1965-1966    Francis P. Pacelli again served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1966        Apr-Dec, Albert E. Polonsky served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1966-1973    Bernard J. Lycett served as mayor of Daly City.
    (GTP, 1973, p.88)

1967        May 20, The new Daly City Civic Center on 90th St. was dedicated. It was a neo-classic design by the architects Donald F. Haines, Zaven Tatarian and Assoc. It cost $3.5 million and the funds were raised by the Civic Center Corporation.
    (GTP, 1973, p.96,102)

1968        Sep, In Daly City, Ca., the community of St. Andrew was founded with Father James Moher as pastor with a predominantly Filipino congregation. In July of 1975 a parish church was completed at 1571 Southgate Ave.
    (SFC, 10/8/12, p.A6)

1968        The Serramonte Shopping Center opened in Daly City.
    (SFC, 2/8/02, p.B1)

1969        Feb 4, John Madden (b.1936), a graduate of Daly City’s Jefferson High School, was named head coach of the NFL's Oakland Raiders.
    (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Madden)

1969-1995    David R. Rowe (d.1998 at age 60) began serving as the City Manager at age 31 and served for 26 years.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.12)(SFC, 10/30/98, p.D4)

1970        Jan 23, Evel Knievel made a motorcycle jump over parked cars and trucks at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca.
    (www.stevemandich.com/evelincarnate/eveltimeline.htm)

1970        Serramonte High School was dedicated.
    (GTP, 1973, p.42)(LaPen, 12/86, p.14)
1970        The fertility ratio in Daly City dropped to 380 per 1,000 women. The population reached 66,922.
    (GTP, 1973, p.130,133)

1970s-1980s  Schemes to develop San Bruno Mountain brought large crowds before various city councils. The Save Bruno Mountain Association was organized and opposed the annexation of the mountain by Daly City. It was finally determined that most of the mountain would remain in its primitive state as a park administered by the San Mateo County Parks and Rec. Dept. Parts not included in the park were awarded to Brisbane, Daly City and South San Francisco.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.10)

1971        San Francisco Bay Area  cemetery workers went on a 4-month strike. Some 1800 coffins went unburied until union and cemetery workers reached agreement.
    (SSFC, 3/28/10, DB p.42)
1971        The Daly City, Ca., Fire Dept. placed into service its new Van Pelt Engine and the 85 foot Van Pelt Snorkel Truck.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1972        Five blocks of houses were razed to build the Daly City BART station and widen John Daly Blvd.
    (Ind, 5/25/99, p.2C)

1972        The San Bruno Mountain Area under the planning of the Foremost McKesson Co. had 290 acres developed as the Crocker Industrial Park, Antenna Hill used for broadcasting transmitters, and a quarry of 107 acres next to the industrial park (slated for long term phase-out to landscaping). The Crocker Land Company proposed plans for commercial, industrial and residential communities on the northern and eastern slopes and called for at least 1,140 acres for a permanent regional park.
    (GTP, 1973, p.128)
1972        The Original Daly City Protective Assoc. was formed for home owners south of the Daly City BART station. Politicians had called the area "old Daly City." City manager David Rowe suggested high-rise apartments for the area and $20,000 for the homeowners' property, but was rebuffed by the association.
    (Ind, 5/25/99, p.2C)
1972        Henry Doelger sold his lasts interests Westlake, the Westlake Apartments.
    (GTP, 1973, p.109)

1973        Jan, The Daly City, Ca., Fire Dept. began a 56 hour work week for its line personnel.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1973        Nov 16, Groundbreaking for the Serramonte Library took place.
    (Tattler, 1/03)

1973        Dec 1, The Daly City, Ca., Fire Dept. placed into service the new combination Station 7 and Fire Administration building at 444 Gellert. Station 7 was later renumbered as Station 94 in the San Mateo County numbering program.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1973        Samuel C. Chandler, longtime DC Librarian, published "Gateway to the Peninsula: A History of Daly City."
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.2)
1973        Alemany Boulevard was renamed to honor John Donal Daly.
    (BG-2012)
1973        Bart opened transportation service in Daly City.
    (BG-2012)
1973        The Bayshore Library found a new home on Geneva Avenue.
    (BG-2012)
1973        In Brisbane Eugene Aiello served as the city manager and William E. Lawrence as mayor. The population was 4,476.
    (GTP, 1973, p.125)
1973        Anthony A. Giammona was elected Mayor of Daly City. Victor G. Kyriakis was Mayor pro tem; Paul M. Hupf, Bernard J. Lycett, and McRobert L. Stewart were Councilmen; Anna Ohlendorf was the City Clerk; and Anthony J. Zidich was the City Treasurer.
    (GTP, 1973, p.103)
1973        Six commissions were operating in Daly City. They included: The Personnel Board; the Planning Commission, the Recreation Commission, the Library Board of Trustees, the Civic Center Corporation, and the Redevelopment Agency.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)
1973        David Pelzer (12) was rescued from horrifying family abuse that included starvation and physical beating. In 1998 his 2 books, based on his childhood in Daly City, Ca., made the NY Times best-seller list: "A Child Called It" and "A Lost Boy." His father was a SF fireman and his mother was a homemaker with 4 other sons who were spared the abuse.
    (SFC, 7/30/98, p.C1)
1973        Colma covered an area that was 1 and 8/10 square miles. It was governed by a 5-man city council. One man was named mayor and presided over the council meetings which were held twice monthly.
    (GTP, 1973, p.104)
1973        Daly City had 165 miles of pipe for water, serving all the city except the Bayshore District.
    (GTP, 1973, p.90)

1974        Feb 4, Newspaper heiress Patty Hearst (b.1954) was kidnapped in Berkeley, Ca., by a left-wing urban guerrilla group called the Symbionese Liberation Army. Her boyfriend Steven Weed was beaten and she was held for 4½ weeks at 37 Northridge Drive in Daly City. Patty was then taken to 1827 Golden Gate Ave, apt. #6, in San Francisco and held for another four weeks. Hearst then joined the underground revolutionary group.
    (http://tinyurl.com/mtthp28)(SFC, 2/8/97, p.A7)(AP, 2/4/97)(AP, 2/4/97)(SFEC, 3/1/98, p.W22)

1974        The Daly City Community Service Center was established by the Daly City Council.
    (DCN, winter ‘98, p.6)

1975        Sep 20, The Serramonte Library opened.
    (Tattler, 1/03)

1975        Visitacion Associates, co-owners of 3600 acres of San Bruno Mountain with the Crocker Land Co., proposed a major development of over 8,500 residential units and 2 million square feet of office and commercial space. Residents began lobbying county officials against the development.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.11A)

1976        Nov 28, Elvis Presley preformed a concert at the Cow Palace in Daly City, Ca.
    (www.elvispresleymusic.com.au/pictures/1976_nov_28.html)

1976        Harry Flamburis, president of the SF chapter of the Hell’s Angels, was found shot to death in his Daly City house along with roommate Dannette Barrett.
    (SFC, 1/11/02, p.G4)

1976        San Mateo County, Ca., rebuilt the military housing by the PG&E plant east of Cow Palace in Daly City with a housing complex of 150 units called Midway Village. The units stood over toxic soil from PG&E that was used by the military during WW II as land fill. Dirt and groundwater in the area contained polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons (PNAs), a known carcinogen. No soil tests were conducted.
    (SFC, 3/10/98, p.A14)(SFC, 1/5/00, p.A12)(SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1976        The Crocker Neighborhood Assoc. was founded.
    (Ind, 7/27/99, p.1A)

1976        A $50 million modernization program began for Mary’s Help Hospital (later Mary Seton MC).
    (Ind, 8/11/01, 5A)

1976        An endangered species listing for the mission blue butterfly on San Bruno Mountain temporarily halted the massive development plans for San Bruno Mountain.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.11A)

1977        A History, Arts and Science Commission was declared by the City Council. It was organized to serve Daly City under the administration of the City Librarian. The commission formed individual guilds, each represented in a parent council known as the Daly City Advocates.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.12)
c1977        The Fred Gellert Foundation extended to DC a grant of $1 million to fund programs in the arts. DC invited other municipalities in Northern San Mateo County in the formation of the Northern San Mateo Center for the Arts. Within a year a small theater and exhibit rooms were established in a former high school.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.12)

1978        Jun 6, California voters overwhelmingly approved Proposition 13, the Jarvis-Gann amendment, a primary ballot initiative calling for major cuts in property taxes. It limited the taxing abilities of local governments and many city services were reduced as a result.
    (AP, 6/6/97)(LaPen, 12/86, p.8)

1978        Sep 28, The Teachers Union ended a 3-week strike against the Jefferson High School District's 6 schools in Daly City and Pacifica.
    (SFC, 9/26/03, p.E4)

1978        The Crocker Land Co. donated 546 acres and sold to San Mateo County 1100 acres of land along the main ridge of San Bruno Mountain. This became the bulk of San Bruno Mountain State and County Park.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.11A)

1978        The Daly City Scavenger Company closed the Mussel Rock Landfill downhill from Westline Drive. The 29-acre dump, carved into a slope atop sand and silt, suffered from erosion and began seeping waste. It cost the city $200,000 annually for monitoring and maintenance and failed to comply with state standards.
    (SFC, 4/21/00, p.A22)

1978        Henry Doelger (b.1898), SF and Daly City home builder, died on his boat in the Mediterranean. His 1st SF house is believed to be at 1419 39th Ave.
    (SFC, 10/15/02, p.A20)

1979        Dec, A traditional annual Christmas party was begun in Colma.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1979        Mike Nevin (1943-2012) became a Daly City planning commissioner. He was elected to the Daly City Council in 1982 and served as mayor in 1984 and 1989. In 1992 he was elected to the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors and during 12 years on that board served as board president in 1997 and 2001.
    (SFC, 12/3/12, p.C3)
1979        The Serramonte Homeowners Association dedicated the neighborhood clubhouse in Gellert Park.
    (Ind, 6/1/99, p.1A)
1979        A community feed was begun at Molloy's roadhouse on Mission Road.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1979        K-Mart won approval for an 86,000-square-foot store on El Camino Real.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1980        Jun, K-Mart opened its new store on El Camino.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1980        Nov 1, The Doelger Senior Center was dedicated by Mayor Anthony Giammona. It was converted from the former Fernando Rivera Junior High School.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.11,14)

1980        Jan Powell was appointed to the City Council after serving 11 years as trustee of the Jefferson Union High School District.
    (SFC, 6/10/99, p.C6)
1980        The Census Bureau reported the DC population to be 78,519.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.6)

1980        PG&E workers first complained to the US EPA about chemicals uncovered during construction at the Martin Service Center on Geneva. Some of the soil at the site was hauled away.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)(SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1981        Oct, A South San Francisco measure to prevent the development of San Bruno Mountain failed decisively. The Citizen's Action League opposed the development of San Bruno Mountain and placed an initiative that would deny municipal services to developer W.W. Dean Co. unless the southern slope and the Juncus Ravine were donated to the county park. After the vote the developer donated the Juncus Ravine, filed for bankruptcy and withdrew from the project.
    (Ind, 4/27/99, p.1,12A)

1981        The city of Bayshore was annexed to Daly City.
    (Ind, 7/13/99, p.1A)

1982        The History Guild of Daly City / Colma was founded with one grant-subsidized employee. Its logo was the outline of San Bruno Mountain’s Antennae Peak in front of a rising moon, together set in a circular frame and the name outlined on the outer edge.
    (Tattler, 1/98)

1982        Jane Powell was elected to the Daly City Council and was picked by council members as the first female mayor of Daly City. She served 3 separate one year terms.
    (SFC, 6/10/99, p.C6)

1983        Apr, Mary’s Help Hospital was renamed Mary Seton Medical Center.
    (Ind, 8/11/01, 5A)

1983        The state put the PG&E property near Geneva and Bayshore on its Superfund list named after the federal program for toxic waste cleanup.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)

1984        Jun, Tony Giamonna retired after 32 years with the Jefferson School District, the last 28 of which he served as a physical education teacher and athletic director of Westmoor High School.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.4)

1984        Richard Sims (1933-2008) was named chief of police for Daly City, Ca. Sims retired in 1990 following a 34 year career in the city’s police department.
    (SSFC, 2/10/08, p.B3)

1984        PG&E fenced off its property at the Martin Service Center from Midway Village. The site was placed on the Superfund list of most contaminated sites in California.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)(SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1985        Mar 30, Workers at cemeteries in Colma, Ca., joined striking East Bay graveyard employees.
    (SSFC, 3/28/10, DB p.42)

1985        Mary Mahoney, nurse, wrote "Reflections on Mary’s Help Hospital and Seton Medical Center."
    (SFC, 6/14/97, p.C2)
1985        An arson fire at Westmoor High School in Daly City, Ca., caused $1 million in damage.
    (SSFC, 2/10/08, p.B3)

1986        Mar 22, The City Hall Mortgage Burning, dedication of a new official city flag, that had flown over the Iwo Jima Memorial Monument in Washington, and community reception was held. Official US commemorative postcards were issued along with envelopes.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.15)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.2)

1986        Sep 27, The DC 75th Anniversary Parade was held. A time capsule with DC memorabilia was buried at the Civic Center with an opening planned for the year 2086.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.15)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.2)

1986        Oct 4, The DC 75th Anniversary Formal Black Tie Dinner & Dance was held at the Lake Merced Golf and Country Club.
    (LaPen, 12/86, p.15)(SMTS, 10/1/86, p.2)

1986        The History Guild of Daly City became an self-dependent entity with by-laws and elected officers.
    (Tattler, 1/98)
1986        Bunny and Ken Gillespie published "The Great Daly City Historical Trivia Book." It contained 386 questions and answers in 8 chapters with pen and ink drawings by Ken.
    (GDC, 1987)
1986        PG&E notified the state that it was examining some 32 sites where gas was once manufactured from oil. The EPA estimated that there were up to 3,000 sites left over from the gaslight era contained harmful chemicals.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)
1986-1996    Anthony Governale (d.1998 at 69), former mayor of San Bruno, served as executive director of the Daly City - Colma Chamber of Commerce.
    (SFC, 1/2/99, p.C2)

1987        The 62 units of the 4.5 acre Serramonte Highlands townhouse development were completed. Phases II and III followed under a different developer.
    (Ind, 6/29/99, p.1A)
1987        Bunny and Ken Gillespie were designated as the Official Daly City Historians. They had published "The Great Daly City Historical Trivia Book" in 1986.
    (GDC, 1987)
1987        Target opened a store in Colma and expanded it to 140,000 square feet.
    (Ind, 1/30/98, p.5A)

1988        Mar 8, In San Francisco at least 3 people made off with more than half a million dollars after the loot spilled from a Loomis Armored Inc. truck onto Third Street. An additional $1.3 million was left on the street. Louis A Lopez of Daly City picked up two bundles containing $40,100 and took them to the Loomis offices.
    (SSFC, 3/3/13, DB p.42)

1988        The Chinese Hoy Sun Cemetery was established in Colma, Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1989        PG&E consultants under state orders found toxic residues at Midway Village and then found records that that the 150-unit subdivision was atop contaminated fill - toxic scrapings from the next-door PG&E site - originally covered by WW II era housing. Polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PNAs), previously know as polynuclear aromatic hydrocarbons, were found. These substances were linked to numerous types of cancer.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)

1990        Sep, San Mateo County, Ca., and PG&E held a public meeting to tell residents of Daly City’s Midway Village about the contaminated soil on the site. Residents wee informed that toxic wastes have been found in about one of every four of the buildings.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)(SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)
1990        Nov, San Mateo County, Ca., hired contractors to remove some of the soil from Midway Village in Daly City and to cap some areas with concrete patios.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1990        A $13 million traffic project was begun along John Daly Blvd. that stretched from the BART station to Skyline Blvd. It was completed in 1999.
    (Ind, 6/29/99, p.10A)
1991        Oct 5, The San Jose Sharks opened local play at the Cow Palace in Daly City while they awaited the building of an arena in San Jose, Ca.
    (SFC, 2/28/08, p.A11)(www.sportsecyclopedia.com/nhl/sanjose/sharks.html)

1991        In Daly City the Hillside Homeowners Improvement Association donated $10,000 for the construction of the Teglia Community Center.
    (Ind, 5/11/99, p.1A)
1991-1993    The California state and housing authority tried to cap harmful residues in Midway Village and Bayshore Park.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A14)
1992        Sep, The Mini-Museum of Daly City, operated by the History Guild of Daly city, was dedicated in the Serramonte Library. It was open every Tuesday afternoon 1-2:30.
    (Tat, 1/98)

1993        Feb, Some 250 residents of Midway Village filed a $125 million class-action suit against the federal government over their contaminated area. The suit was dismissed in 1994.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1993        Jul, The federal government granted $1.8 million to San Mateo County for capping more soil at Midway Village.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1993        Jul 26, In the SF Bay Area Pat Hatfield founded the Colma Historical Association.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)(Ind, 9/8/98, p.1A)

1993        Aug, Jane Powell resigned as a councilwoman after she was left off a key committee that was to select a site for a proposed educational facility.
    (SFC, 6/10/99, p.C6)

1993        A plaque was dedicated in remembrance of the WWII Navy reconnaissance blimp crash in Daly City.
    (BG-2012)

1994        The Gap opened its Old Navy discount clothing store in Colma, Ca.
    (SSFC, 2/29/04, p.I1)
1994        Midway Village, east of Cow Palace, was cleaned of toxins.
    (SFC, 3/10/98, p.A14)
1994        The Chinese Golden Hills Memorial Park cemetery was established in Colma, Ca.
    (www.colmahistory.org/History.htm)

1995        The Council of Homeowners and Residents Association (COHRA) was founded.
    (Ind, 4/20/99, p.1A)

1996        Nov, Helen Flowerday was elected as city clerk following a recent vote to keep the post an elected position.
    (Tattler, 5/99)

1996        The Daly City fire Station 93 at 464 martin Street was placed into service.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

1997         Apr 27, There was a report on the toxic hot spot at Midway Village, just southeast of the Cow Palace. Toxic waste from lampblack was left over from gas manufacturing a century ago.
    (SFEC, 4/27/97, p.A1)

1997        Jun 13, There was a fire on the east side of San Bruno Mountain that sent flames over Highway 101.
    (SFC, 6/28/97, p.A17)

1997        Jun 26, A fire on San Bruno Mountain scorched 150 acres over Brisbane.
    (SFC, 6/28/97, p.A17)
1997        Nov, The city acquired a new $55,000 robot to assist in law enforcement.
    (SFC,12/5/97, p.A15)

1997        Dec 5, The Federal fish and wildlife authorities listed the calippe silverspot butterfly, known to exist only on the grasslands of San Bruno Mountain and a park in Alameda Ct., under the Endangered Species Act.
    (SFC,12/5/97, p.A17)

1997        Dec 30, Former teacher William C. LaForge pleaded no contest to felony insurance fraud in Municipal Court. He agreed to pay $44,000 in restitution to a worker’s comp fund. He had claimed to have hurt his back in Jan 1995 at the Jefferson Union alternative education campus. He was then discovered to be playing golf as many as 15 times a month, while collecting disability.
    (SFC, 1/1/98, p.A22)

1997        Dec, Colma dedicated the new $750,000 Recreation Center on F. St.
    (Ind, 4/21/98, p.1)

1997        The $1.2 billion, 8-mile BART route between Colma and the SF Airport broke ground with completion set for 2001. It was to pass through 7 cemeteries in Colma.
    (SFC, 1/27/98, p.A20)

1997        In California a San Mateo County Superior Court judge dismissed a lawsuit filed by 195 residents and former residents of Daly City’s Midway Village, who claimed they deserved compensation from PG&E and the county housing department. The court said plaintiffs had not established that exposure to toxic waste had caused their illnesses.
    (SFC, 3/2/09, p.B5)

1998        Jan, Ernesto Fuentes stabbed and killed his neighbor Jose Arraiaza (38) and then attacked John Morgan at a liquor store. Fuentes was convicted of voluntary manslaughter and sentenced to 14 years in prison in 1999.
    (SFC, 9/2/99, p.C4)

1998        Feb 5, Heavy rains caused the street to collapse into the sea on Avalon Dr. Another collapse followed Dec 20, 2003.
    (SFC, 2/6/98, p.A1)(SFC, 12/23/03, p.A20)

1998        Mar 23, In Daly City, Ca., three children were found dead by their grandparents in the bedroom of their home on Higate Drive. Their mother, Megan Hogg (25), was taken to Seton Medical Center where she was treated and released. Hogg was later arrested for killing her 3 daughters, aged 2-7. She pleaded no contest to 3 counts of first-degree murder and was sentenced to 25 years to life in prison in 1999.
    (SFC, 3/24/98, p.A1)(SFC, 9/25/99, p.A18)

1998        Mar 25, A 13-year-old student at Fernando Rivera Middle School shot at Principal Matteo Rizzo with a semiautomatic pistol, but missed. He sought revenge for being sent home after getting into an argument. Rizzo had also talked to him about wearing his pants low and looking sloppy. The teen was sentenced to the California Youth Authority.
    (SFC, 3/26/98, p.A1)(SFC, 12/5/98, p.A18)

1998        Apr 8, The City of Colma council stipulated that adults of its 1,100 member community will have to pay 10% of costs for a summer vacation to Lake Tahoe or Washington D.C.
    (Ind, 4/21/98, p.1)

1988        Spring, Terra Bay Phase II and III were scheduled to begin. 300 condominium units were approved and approval was pending on an additional 375 condos along with a hotel and retail complex over the historic Indian site on the east side of San Bruno Mountain.
    (SFEC,12/29/97, p.A13)

1998        Apr 7, A new Lucky grocery store opened at the site of the former Mission Bell Hotel on Mission St.
    (Tattler, 5/98)

1998        Jun 24, Dan Lungren, the state attorney general, approved a provisional license for the $20 million Lucky Chances Card Room in Colma.
    (SFC, 6/27/98, p.A18)

1998        Jul 2, The new, 43-table, Lucky Chances casino opened on Hillside in Colma.
    (SFC, 7/3/98, p.A21)

1998        Dec 8, In the SF Bay Area an electrician’s error in San Mateo caused a power outage along the northern peninsula that lasted some 6 hours.
    (SFC, 12/9/98, p.A1)

1998        Colma passed an ordnance to allow unlimited card betting at the Lucky Chances casino. In 2005 California state lawyers told officials to reimpose a $200-a-hand limit.
    (SFC, 9/7/05, p.B1)

1998        The Geneva Drive-in closed.
    (SFEM, 3/19/00, p.24)

1998        Daly City paid the Korean Central Presbyterian Church $2 million to use the sites soil to repair areas damaged by El Nino storms.
    (SFC, 12/23/03, p.A19)

1999        Jan 18, A gang shooting on Huntington between Glenbrook and Castleton left 2 young men wounded and led to the arrest of 3 others aged 17.
    (SFC, 1/19/99, p.A12)

1999        Jan 30, The new web site for the Daly City and Colma Chamber of Commerce was announced. www.dalycity-colmachamber.org
1999        Feb 4, A seismic trace linking to the San Andres Fault was identified as the Mussel Rock Fault.
    (SFC, 2/5/99, p.A1)

1999        Mar 3, Voters passed a $1.2 million parcel tax for the Brisbane elementary School District 666-333.
    (SFC, 3/4/99, p.C16)
1999        Apr 24, A jogger found the body of a 17-year-old boy, William Posada Tejada, behind the M. Pauline Brown Elementary School at 305 Eastmoor. Gang violence was suspected. Tejada had agreed earlier to work with police on a Jan 8 attempted murder case. Police later arrested Edgar Hernandez (20) of SF, Juan Ruiz (19) and Randy Reyes (18) of Daly City, along with 3 17-year olds, all members of the Daly City Locos gang.
    (SFEC, 4/25/99, p.C2)(SFC, 4/27/99, p.A17)(SFC, 4/27/99, p.A16)

1999        Jun 2, Joseph Ignacio Pagaduan (18) shot and killed his mother and father, Edwin (44)  and Cecilia (44), at 444 Higate Drive.
    (SFC, 6/4/99, p.A18)

1999        Jun 7, Former Daly City Mayor Jane Powell died at age 71. Powell was the first female mayor of Daly City in 1982 and served 3 separate one year terms.
    (SFC, 6/10/99, p.C6)

1999        Jun 22, It was reported that the City Council had approved a $47 million plan to improve facilities over the next 5 years. Included was a $10 million plan to demolish and rebuild the War Memorial Community Center.
    (Ind, 6/22/99, p.1A)

1999        Jun, The federal Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry released a study that showed high levels of genetic abnormalities among the residents of Midway Village.
    (SFC, 1/19/00, p.A4)

1999        Jul 19, Leonard Nathan Sherman of Daly City shot his sister, Betty Dreyfuss, who died on Aug 4. In 2001 Sherman (85) was sentenced to life in state prison and believed to be the oldest man in San Mateo County to be convicted of murder.
    (SFC, 1/25/01, p.A14)
1999        Jul 26, The demise of the Serra Theater was marked with the removal of the first letter from the marquee. A new Hampton Inn, the first hotel in Daly City, was scheduled to replace the theater.
    (Ind, 8/3/99, p.1A)

1999        Oct, A work project was begun to enlarge an outdated storm drainage system overturned contaminated soil at the Midway Village area of Daly City. Residents protested the work and sought compensation from ailments attributed to the contaminated soil.
    (SFC, 1/5/00, p.A12)

1999        Nov 3, Ground was broken for the new Pacific Plaza development on Junipero Serra. Completion was expected in the Fall of 2002.
    (Ind, 11/9/99, p.1A)

1999        The Colma City Council planned to open a historical museum.
    (SFC, 9/8/98, p.1A)

2000        Feb 15, Rains threatened the 17 seaside cliff homes along Westline Drive, which also sat on the Mussel Rock Fault. Mayor Sal Torres asked government agencies for a rerouting of emergency funds to stave off any tragic slide of homes.
    (SFC, 2/16/00, p.A15)

2000        Feb 17, PG&E turned off the gas connections to the 17 homes on Westline Drive for fear of hazardous leaks.
    (SFC, 2/18/00, p.A21)

2000        Feb 23, City Manager John Martin announced that the state made the 18 homes along Westline Drive eligible for emergency funding.
    (SFC, 2/24/00, p.A20)

2000        Feb 28, Police, responding to an alleged assault, shot and killed Anthony Ramos (40) at 888 Higate Dr. after Ramos charged at them with a 6-inch kitchen knife.
    (SFC, 2/29/00, p.A18)

2000        Mar 9, An out of court settlement created a 25-acre-preservation zone around the 4-acre shell mound on san Bruno Mountain along with protection for the callipe silverspot butterfly. San Bruno Mountain Watch under David Schooley made the agreement with Meyers Development Co., the city of South SF and the US Army Corps of Engineers.
    (SFC, 3/10/00, p.A17)

2000        Mar 21, The San Mateo County Board declared the housing complex at Midway Village in Daly City in need of demolition.
    (SFC, 3/22/00, p.A16)

2000        Mar 25, A 2-alarm house fire at 444 Templeton Ave. left one man (37) dead.
    (SFEC, 3/26/00, p.D3)

2000        Jul 26, Police Capt. Gary S. McLane (45) was named as the Chief of the Daly City Police Dept.
    (SFC, 7/27/00, p.A18)

2000        Jul, Daly City in a 4-1 vote approved the construction of a new Korean Central Presbyterian Church on Northridge Drive. Mayor Sal Torres was the only dissenter.
    (SFC, 12/23/03, p.A19)

2000        Nov, The 5-member city council voted to extend its eminent domain along Mission St. and Junipero Serra for another 12 years. The council had already held this power for 24 years.
    (SFC, 12/20/00, p.A26)

2001        May 21, The body of Quetzalcoatl Alba (15) was found in a storage room in the carport area of the Park Plaza Drive apartment complex in Daly City, Ca. Suspects Carlos Maldonado and Erick Morales denied involvement and left the area. In 2007 police found evidence of the crime and tracked down Maldonado in Miami. He attempted to escape police on arrival at the SF Airport and jumped a railing plunging 25 feet to the arrival area of the airport, suffering serious, but non-life threatening injuries. In 2009 police arrested Erick Morales (25) in NY state and planned to extradite him to San Mateo. In 2013 Reynaldo Maldonado (34) was convicted of murder.
    (SFC, 10/24/07, p.B4)(SFC, 10/14/09, p.D2)

2001        Aug, The state Dept. of Toxic Substances began excavating earth away from Midway Village and Bayshore Park due to PNAs.
    (SFC, 8/25/01, p.A14)

2001        Sep 26, Pat Martel, ass’t. manager of Daly City, was named general manager of SF PUC, the 1st Latina, lesbian or woman to head the agency.
    (SFC, 12/30/01, p.D5)

2001        Oct 25, SF, Daly City and 3 golf courses agreed on a plan to restore the health and water level of Lake Merced.
    (SFC, 10/26/01, p.A24)

2001        Daly City brought control to the ongoing fired danger in Southern Hills through its gorse management program. It became the first jurisdiction in California to have a designation of Special High Severity Zone removed.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

2002        Feb 7, Plans were reported for the sale of Serramonte Center to Capital & Counties USA, a division of Britain’s Liberty Int’l. for $119 million. The mall had 860,000 sq-feet on 80 acres and was being sold by Gelsar Inc.
    (SFC, 2/8/02, p.B1)

2002        Mar 15, SF and DC officials along with representatives of 3 golf courses and a conservation group signed a 50-year contract to use recycled water and storm runoff to counter the shrinkage of Lake Merced.
    (SFC, 3/16/02, p.A17)

2002        Mar 16, Richard Tims of SF was shot dead by police at Geneva and Mission. Tims had just stabbed a boy (16) following an altercation on a bus.
    (SFC, 3/19/02, p.A14)

2002        A Daly City $1 million technology upgrade was begun and expected to take 18 months for a new Geographically-Based Information System.
    (Ind, 10/19/02, 5A)
2002        The Brisbane, California, Educational Support Team (BEST) commissioned a mural as a fundraiser for local schools. It was designed and painted by Mona Caron. The main image shows the local native flora, with San Bruno Mountain in the background.
    (http://monacaron.com/brisbane/index.shtml)

2003        Jun 22, A BART link with San Francisco Int’l. Airport (SFO) opened.
    (SSFC, 6/22/03, p.A1)

2003        Mar, The residence of Henry Doelger, developer of the Westlake area, sold for $1,300,000.
    (BG-2012)

2003        Oct 18, The 24th annual SF Exotic Erotic Ball took place at the Cow Palace in Daly City.
    (SFC, 10/20/03, p.D1)

2003        Nov 22, The Diva2Diva show at the Daly City, Ca., Cow Palace featured Filipino singers Kuh Ledesma and Zsa Zsa Padilla.
    (Ind, 11/15/03, p.1A)

2003        Nov 29, “Daly City" by Bunny Gillespie went on sale. It was published by Arcadia Publishing as part of its “Images of America" series.
    (www.arcadiapublishing.com/9780738528670/Daly-City)

2003        Dec 20, Tons of earth plunged into the ocean off Northridge Park at Avalon Canyon. John Martin, DC manager, soon halted nearby construction of a 25,000 square-foot Korean Central Presbyterian Church.
    (SFC, 12/22/03, p.A17)

2003        The North county Fire Authority was established to provide administrative governance to the three city departments of Brisbane, Daly City and Pacifica with headquarters in Daly City.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

2004        Feb 26, Most of the 90 houses along Westpark Drive in Daly City were deluged when a major storm sent torrents down a freshly stripped hillside of the Olympic Club golf course.
    (SFC, 2/27/04, p.A23)

2004        Mar 25, Lawrence May (48), a Daly City methamphetamine user, stabbed his wife Sharen May (40) over 100 times with scissors to death in San Mateo, Ca., following a divorce mediation session. In 2006 May was sentenced to life in prison.
    (SFC, 1/24/06, p.B4)(SFC, 3/22/06, p.B4)

2004        Jul 20, San Mateo County closed 4 parks 3 days a week to help cover a $700,000 budget cut. These included San Bruno Mountain, Junipero Serra, San Pedro Valley and Edgewood County Parks.
    (SFC, 7/16/04, p.A1)

2004        Oct 23, The 25th annual Exotic Erotic Ball was held at the Cow Palace in Daly City.
    (SFC, 10/27/04, p.E1)

2004        The Daly City fire Station 92 at 18 Bepler Street was placed into service.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

2005        Jan 27, Daly City officials and developers broke ground for the Landmark Plaza at 6501 Mission. The project included 17,000 square feet of retail space and 95 new 2-bedroom apartment units that would sell for about $400,000.
    (Ind, 2/1/05, p.A1)

2005        Feb 21, A storm caused a landslide in Daly City at the Northridge bluff near the construction site of a new Korean Church.
    (Ind, 2/26/05, p.A1)

2005        Mar 21, Justin Mendoza of Daly City was shot and killed outside the Café Cocomo nightclub in SF. In 2008 Gerry Phongboupha (25) was convicted of 1st degree murder and other charges in connection to Mendoza’s murder.
    (SFC, 4/16/08, p.B5)

2005        Jun 3, Bench clothing store, founded in the Philippines in 1987, opened up its 1st US store at Serramonte Center in Daly City, Ca.
    (SFC, 6/4/05, p.C1)

2005        Jul 22, Tony Giammona (78), former basketball coach and Mayor of Daly City, died. He served 26 years on the Daly City Council (1966-1992) and was known as "Mr. Daly City."
    (Ind, 7/6/99, p.1A)(SFC, 7/29/05, p.B7)

2005        Jul 25, San Leandro, Ca., police officer Nels Niemi was shot and killed by a convicted methamphetamine user. Police arrested Irving Alexander Ramirez the next day in Daly City. In 2007 Ramirez was convicted of first-degree murder.
    (SFC, 7/27/05, p.A1)(SFC, 5/11/07, p.B1)

2005        Sep 9, The San Jose, Ca., KNTV station (Channel 11) hoped to soon complete a new tower on Daly City’s San Bruno Mountain. It would allow viewers in SF to receive NBC television broadcasts. A target date of Sep 12, KNTV’s 50th anniversary, was planned.
    (SFC, 9/9/05, p.C1)

2006        Jul 22, Tamika Mack Norton (31), the wife of Quincy Norton Sr. (32), was stabbed to death at her home in Daly City, Ca. Norton was arrested a month later and charged with her murder. In 2008 he was convicted of murder after his sons testified against him, but the conviction was overturned on the grounds that his defense attorney was incompetent. In 2009 a new trial date was set. In 2010 Norton was again convicted of 1st degree murder and faced 26 years to life in prison.
    (SFC, 4/22/08, p.B2)(SFC, 5/16/08, p.B5)(SFC, 9/23/09, p.D2)(SFC, 10/8/10, p.C5)

2006        Jul 31, A wall collapsed at the former El Rancho grocery off of Geneva St. and crushed a woman in her car. The structure was undergoing demolition.
    (SFC, 8/1/06, p.B1)

2006        Oct 3, A federal grand jury indicted Colma City Councilman Philip Lum Jr. for allegedly taking gifts from the owner of the Lucky Chances Casino and then voting on matters that benefited the cardroom.
    (SFC, 10/4/06, p.B1)
2006         Dec 24, Alex Nuevo (44), a flight attendant for United Airlines, was shot to death outside his in-law unit in Daly City, Ca.
    (SSFC, 2/4/07, p.B1)

2006        Rob Keil published “Little Boxes: The Architecture of a Classic Midcentury Suburb." The photo-filled book focused on the Westlake district of Daly City, Ca.
    (www.dalycityhistory.org/westlake/home.htm)

2006        California’s EPA chief asked the San Mateo Housing Dept. to help relocate concerned residents of Daly City’s Midway Village.
    (SFC, 3/2/09, p.B1)

2007        Jan 21, The Daly City History Guild held its 25th Anniversary at the Doelger Senior Center. This also marked the 25th anniversary of the guild’s newsletter, The Tattler.
    (Tattler, 1/07)

2007        Apr 28, Lou Papan (78), long-time California state assemblyman for San Mateo County, died. Papan had started his political career as a Daly City councilman.
    (SFC, 5/1/07, p.B5)

2007        Jul 12, Philip Lum Jr., former mayor of Colma, Ca., was sentenced to 18 months in federal prison for failing to report numerous free airline tickets from the Lucky Chances Casino in 1999 and 2000.
    (SFC, 7/13/07, p.B6)

2007        Oct 18,  Rene Medina (62) of Atherton, owner of the Lucky Chances Casino in Colma, Ca., pleaded guilty to evading $591,000 in income taxes. In 2008 he was sentenced to 15 months in federal prison for evading $973,000 in income taxes.
    (SFC, 10/23/07, p.D2)(SFC, 10/31/08, p.B3)

2007        Nov 11, The new War Memorial Community Center at 6655 Mission St. in Daly City, Ca., held its grand opening. The structure included the new John Daly Library.
    (www.ci.daly-city.ca.us/city_news/fogcutter/fall_2007.htm)

2007        Daly City, Ca., placed 2 new fire engines into service. Each cost $318,000.
    (DCFD, Centennial, 2007)

2008        Jan 12, In Daly City, Ca., Jose Perez-Gonzalez, an illegal immigrant, broke into a house and beat a woman with a metal pry bar after she surprised him. The attack left the woman (78) blind. Perez was tracked to Guadalajara, Mexico, where he was arrested in November 2008. In 2011 he was sentenced in San Mateo County to 11 years and 8 months in prison.
    (SFC, 3/4/11, p.C3)
2008        Feb 22, California state Senator Leland Yee introduced a bill to let Daly City purchase the 68-acre Cow Palace property, owned by the state, and tear it down for redevelopment.
    (SFC, 2/28/08, p.A1)

2008        Apr 1, A California state Senate committee declined to act on a bill by Senator Leland Yee to declare the Cow Palace in Daly City to be surplus property.
    (SFC, 4/2/08, p.A1)

2008        Apr 15, California Sen. Leland Yee dropped efforts to put the Cow Palace in Daly City up for sale and settled on a compromise plan to allow an adjoining parking lot to be sold.
    (SFC, 4/16/08, p.B14)

2008        Oct 18, In Daly City, Ca., the new Landmark Plaza announced the opening of its mixed use project at 88 Hillside Blvd. Sales for 43 of its Phase I townhome and tower units began in November. Phase II would bring on an additional 48 unites.
    (SFC, 10/18/09, p.G5)(SFC, 11/22/08, p.F8)
     

2008        Dec 5, Cliff Lambert (74), a Palm Springs retiree, was stabbed to death and buried in the desert. To date his body has not been found. The murder was orchestrated by Kaushal Niroula, a SF New College exchange student from Nepal along with 2 other students including Craig McCarthy of Daly City. Miguel Bustamante was the alleged murderer. In 2010 the three faced trial on murder charges. McCarthy (30) pleaded guilty to lesser charges and testified against the others. The plot to kill Lambert, sell his home and take his assets also included  Danny Garcia and SF attorney David Replogle. On Dec 3, 2011, Replogle and Bustamante were convicted of 10 criminal counts including first-degree murder. On Sep 7, 2012, Niroula and Garcia were convicted of first-degree murder and other charges.
    (SSFC, 5/23/10, p.A17)(SSFC, 9/5/10, p.C3)(SFC, 1/4/11, p.C2)(SFC, 9/8/12, p.C4)

2008        Benito Vergara authored “Pinoy Capital: The Filipino Nation in Daly City."
    (www.goodreads.com/book/show/6170014-pinoy-capital)

2009        Feb 19, In Daly City, Ca., a car with 4 friends was sprayed by gun fire on John Daly Blvd., near the BART station. Moises Frias Jr. (21), a student at City College, was killed. Two men in a sedan escaped. The 4 friends had no known gang affiliations. Police later arrested Luis Herrera (18) and Danilo Velasquez (28), members of the MS-13 gang, for their participation in the murder. Jaime Balam (20), a 3rd gang member was being sought. He was deported to Mexico 8 days after the shooting, but before being identified as a suspect. In 2011 Herrera pleaded guilty to racketeering and conspiracy after federal prosecutors agreed to drop a murder charge. Velasquez was convicted of racketeering and conspiracy.
    (SFC, 2/25/09, p.B2)(SFC, 7/10/09, p.D1)(SFC, 11/11/11, p.C3)(SFC, 11/30/11, p.C2)

2009        Jan 5, Alexander James Trabulse (61) of Colma, Ca., was arrested at San Francisco Airport, after arriving from France. He had been charged 3 days earlier with mail fraud. Authorities said he had sent account statements to investors in his Fahey Fund that inflated the hedge fund’s returns by as much as 200%. On Nov 3 Trabulse pleaded guilty for defrauding investors of some $8.3 million. In 2010 Trabulse was sentenced to over 8 years in federal prison.
    (SFC, 1/9/09, p.C1)(SFC, 11/4/09, p.D3)(SFC, 5/5/10, p.C5)

2009        Mar 15, The History Guild of Daly City dedicated its new museum located at the former John Daly Library, 6351 Mission Street, Ca. 94014, (650-757-7177).
    (Opening Day Flyer, 3/15/09)
     

2009        Jun 25, The population of Colma, Ca., was reported at 1,600. Its 16 cemeteries included some 1.5 million graves.
    (SFC, 6/25/09, p.A1)

2009        Oct 29, In Daly City, Ca., 8-year councilwoman Maggie Gomez (55) was arrested and charged with workers’ compensation fraud. She had filed a claim with Seton Medical Center in 2005 and allegedly lied to authorities for the next 2 years regarding the extent of her injuries.
    (SFC, 12/3/09, p.C2)

2009        The Daly City Council voted to slash in half the city clerk’s $109,000 salary in an effort to save money under a $6 million running deficit. Clerk Annette Hipona was the only city official to take a hit. She had pestered council members to see all their personal invites to restaurant openings and other civic events.
    (SFC, 12/10/12, p.C2)

2010        Apr 18, The Int’l. Cannabis and Hemp Expo closed at the Cow Palace, Daly City, Ca. it was the first trade show in the US to allow on-site pot smoking and attracted some 15,000 enthusiasts over the weekend.
    (SFC, 4/19/10, p.C1)

2010        May 29, In Daly City, Ca., a rave at the Cow Palace left 2 people dead due to drug use. Some 16,500 attendees paid about $85 each at the door.
    (SFC, 6/16/10, p.A10)

2010        Feb 7, In Daly City, Ca., a fight at the Little Caesars Pizza near King and Callan left Jessy Wiley (21) of South San Francisco dead. In 2012 three suspected Norteno gang members were convicted in relation to Wiley’s death.
    (SFC, 3/27/12, p.A2)
2010        Jun 21, In Daly City, Ca., Alexander Castenon (26), a barbeque restaurant worker, was shot in the head on the 6200 block of Mission St. On May 4, 2011, 3 suspected MS-13 gang members were indicted by a federal grand jury for the murder. In 2014 the three gang members were sentenced to 27 years in federal prison.
    (SFC, 5/5/11, p.C3)(SFC, 10/24/14, p.D3)

2011        Feb 21, In Daly City, Ca., patrol officers heard shots fired coming from 26 West Market Street. Officers saw an adult male subject grab an adult female around the neck and pull her into the residence. After a six hour stand off, the Hostage Negotiation Team convinced the subjects to leave the residence. Both subjects were arrested. A total of 26 firearms were seized from the residence. 10 of those firearms were considered assault weapons.
    (Daly City Crime Alert and Community Bulletin 02-28-11)

2011        Feb 25, Daly City, Ca., 9-year councilwoman Margarita Gomez (56), pleaded guilty to two felony counts of insurance fraud. She planned to resign on Feb 28. On May 3 Gomez was sentenced to 6 months in jail ordered to pay $64,000 in restitution.
    (SFC, 2/26/11, p.C3)(SFC, 5/4/11, p.C2)

2011        Apr 12, In Colma, Ca., cemetery operator Houston Service Corp. Intl., locked out the groundkeepers at Woodland Memorial Park as workers rejected a $2 and hour pay reduction and reduction of other benefits.
    (SFC, 6/7/11, p.A1)

2011        Sep 21, Norielyn Bautista of Daly City, Ca., a former Burlingame credit union employee, was sentenced to 4 years and 8 months in prison for embezzling over $428,000 from the Pacific Advantage Federal Credit Union between 2006-2010.
    (SSFC, 9/25/11, p.D2)

2011        Oct 29, Kenneth John Gillespie (b.1924), founder of the Daly City/Colma History Guild and the Daly City Museum, died in Daly City, Ca. He and his wife Bunny Gillespie have been Daly City historians since 1987.
    (SFC, 11/6/11, p.D9)

2012        Jan 31, Daly City’s Redevelopment Agency ceased to exist following a decision by the California Supreme Court handed down on Dec 29, 2011, to dissolve redevelopment agencies across the state.
    (Fog Cutter, Spring, 2012, p.2) 
2012        Feb 3, In Colma, Ca., thieves stole 225 bronze vases from Cypress Lawn Memorial Park. On Feb 18 more than 300 more were stolen from another part of the cemetery. All told the vases were valued at over $85,000.
    (SFC, 3/1/12, p.C2)

2012        Apr 15, In Daly City, Ca., generations of Serra Bowl patrons gathered for the final day of operations after 51 years in business. Business was good but the owners of the property decided not to renew its lease.
    (SFC, 4/16/12, p.C1)
2012        Jun 12, Lanty Molloy (b.1932), patriarch of the family-owned Molloy’s Tavern in Colma, Ca., died of a heart attack.
    (SFC, 6/14/12, p.C3)

2012        Nov 14, The film “Daly City: Growing Up In America" premiered at the Century 20 Daly City Theatres.
    (EW, 11/14/12)

2013        Mar 26, In San Francisco Henry Doelger’s Art Deco/Streamline Modern real estate office at 320 Judah St. was voted in as the city’s 265th historical landmark by the Board of Supervisors.
    (http://tinyurl.com/bswp2to)

2013        Jun 26, It was reported that at least 32 government agencies in the SF Bay Area use license plate readers. Police in Daly City, Milpitas and San Francisco have all signed agreements to provide data from plate readers to the Northern California Regional Intelligence Center.
    (SFC, 6/26/13, p.A8)

2013        Sep 5, A San Francisco parks employee in Holly Park ran over Christine Svanemyr of Daly City as she was lying in the grass with her baby and dog.
    (SFC, 9/7/13, p.A1)

2013        Nov 3, Bill Schumacher (b.1937), former Mayor of Daly City, Ca. (1978-1979), died in Palm Desert, Ca.
    (http://memorialwebsites.legacy.com/bill_schumacher/homepage.aspx)    

2013        The Daly City transit station at the Top of the Hill was completed.
    (EW, Apr, 2013)     

2014        Mar 26,  Daly City dentist Wilson Sy Lim was among 26 people arrested in a SF Bay Area FBI sting. State Sen. Leland Yee had introduced Lim to an undercover FBI agent as a connection for securing guns from the Philippines.
    (SFC, 3/31/14, p.A8)

2020        The US Army Corps expected the population density of Daly City and its neighbors to reach 7,452 persons per sq. mile.
    (GTP, 1973, p.129)

2086        The 175th Anniversary of DC and the planned date for the opening of the time capsule buried in 1986.
    (SMTS, 10/1/86, p.2)

Go to http://www.timelinesdb.com
Subject = Daly City
End of subject